Toma Cafe

On a rainy Sunday afternoon in Madrid, with my laptop on my knee after researching different columns for my ‘Opinion Journalism’ course, I decided I wanted to get out of the flat.

But what to do on a rainy day? After considering a soggy walk in the park, messaging a friend for suggestions for a group activity and endlessly waiting for their reply, dragging my reluctant boyfriend away from his game to do something, I settled on visiting a coffee shop on my own.

Now for most travellers, this is an everyday part of their life, but this was actually the first time I had decided to visit a coffee shop alone for no other reason but to take some time out. So first of all, I was panicking frantically searching for reviews of cafes in Madrid for solo travellers on TripAdvisor to no avail, although one cafe did catch my eye called ‘Toma Cafe,’ a seemingly quirky cafe just a few stops away from Canal on the metro.

So off I went, armed with my big fluffy hooded parka and bag with my ‘Diverso 1’ (my A1 Spanish Textbook) and my travel journal, unsure of what to do with my time alone in the coffee shop. Even though as a previous waitress in a coffee shop in England myself I have seen many people enjoying a cup of coffee or a spot of lunch alone, albeit elderly.

When I arrived at the cafe I must admit I walked past it the first time as it looked too crowded to sit down, but I circled back, kicking myself as this stupidity and entered the cafe.

To my surprise, as soon as I walked in the tiny cafe, I spotted many people having coffee alone. Some reading newspapers, others watching the world go by and a couple of people working on their laptops. So having a new found confidence, off I went to order my drink. I was pleasantly shocked to find out in this cafe they have cappuccinos, flavoured lattes and even my favourite – chai lattes – as well as selection of unusual and traditional cakes. I couldn’t help but order a ‘Chocolate Guinness’ Cake I had spotted out the corner of my eye with a cheeky grin from the friendly server. Well, maybe I had been staring at the cakes for a little while, mouth watering…

I then scuttled off to a chair on a long bench where two other people were sat alone and placed myself in the middle and began sipping my delicious chai latte and nibbling on the surprisingly tasty and moist slice of cake. I was completely contented, in fact, I preferred being alone in the coffee than if I had gone with a friend. I simply enjoyed my time away, amongst a crowd of different languages… french, german, spanish, english…, my journal in hand to jot down last weeks events, the lovely mellow pop playing complimenting the sound of the rain outside and the smell of proper coffee, no more ‘cafe con leche.’

So thanks to Toma Cafe, I will now be an avid solo coffee shop visitor, so thank you!

 

Leave a Reply

